Gambia’s new visa policy

Gambia’s new visa policy

In September 2019, The Gambia introduced a new visa policy that allows visa-free entry for citizens of over 90 countries, including all members of the European Union, the United Kingdom, Russia, China, India, and the United States. This new policy aims to promote tourism and facilitate travel to The Gambia.

Under the new policy, citizens of the eligible countries can stay in The Gambia for up to 90 days without a visa. However, those who wish to stay longer than 90 days or engage in business or work in The Gambia will still need to apply for a visa.

The new visa policy also includes a new system for obtaining visas, with the introduction of the new e-visa system. This allows travelers to apply for a visa online before arriving in The Gambia, which should make the process quicker and more convenient.

It is important to note that the new visa policy does not apply to all countries, and some countries still require a visa to enter The Gambia. It is recommended that travelers check the latest information on visa requirements before traveling to The Gambia.


The purpose of Gambia’s new visa policy is to boost the country’s tourism industry and attract more foreign investors. The policy aims to simplify and streamline the visa application process, reduce visa fees, and provide longer visa validity periods.

The new policy includes the introduction of several types of visas, including tourism visas, business visas, family visit visas, and student visas, among others. The policy also allows for visa-on-arrival for certain countries and introduces an e-visa system to make the application process more convenient and accessible for travelers. The goal is to make Gambia a more attractive destination for tourists and investors and to facilitate easier entry for those who want to visit or do business in the country.


The new visa policy of The Gambia is expected to have a positive impact on the country’s tourism industry and economy as a whole. By simplifying and streamlining the visa process, The Gambia aims to attract more visitors to the country, which in turn will lead to increased spending on tourism-related services such as accommodation, food, transport, and attractions.

Moreover, the policy is also expected to promote cultural and people-to-people exchanges between The Gambia and other countries, and encourage business and investment opportunities. The visa policy is also expected to make it easier for Gambians to travel abroad for business, study, or other purposes, thereby promoting the country’s global integration and participation in international affairs.

Overall, the new visa policy is expected to contribute to the growth and development of The Gambia’s economy and improve its standing in the international community.

The new visa policy for The Gambia was approved by the Gambian government, specifically by the Ministry of Interior in collaboration with the Ministry of Tourism and Culture.

The following 90 countries are eligible for visa on arrival at the Banjul International Airport:

  1. Andorra
  2. Argentina
  3. Australia
  4. Austria
  5. Belgium
  6. Bolivia
  7. Brazil
  8. Bulgaria
  9. Canada
  10. Chile
  11. China
  12. Colombia
  13. Costa Rica
  14. Croatia
  15. Cuba
  16. Cyprus
  17. Czech Republic
  18. Denmark
  19. Dominican Republic
  20. Ecuador
  21. El Salvador
  22. Estonia
  23. Finland
  24. France
  25. Germany
  26. Greece
  27. Guatemala
  28. Honduras
  29. Hong Kong
  30. Hungary
  31. Iceland
  32. India
  33. Indonesia
  34. Ireland
  35. Israel
  36. Italy
  37. Japan
  38. Latvia
  39. Liechtenstein
  40. Lithuania
  41. Luxembourg
  42. Macao
  43. Malaysia
  44. Malta
  45. Mexico
  46. Monaco
  47. Netherlands
  48. New Zealand
  49. Nicaragua
  50. Norway
  51. Panama
  52. Paraguay
  53. Peru
  54. Poland
  55. Portugal
  56. Romania
  57. Russia
  58. San Marino
  59. Singapore
  60. Slovakia
  61. Slovenia
  62. South Korea
  63. Spain
  64. Sweden
  65. Switzerland
  66. Taiwan
  67. Thailand
  68. Turkey
  69. Ukraine
  70. United Arab Emirates
  71. United Kingdom
  72. United States of America
  73. Uruguay
  74. Vatican City
  75. Venezuela
  76. Vietnam
  77. Antigua and Barbuda
  78. Bahamas
  79. Barbados
  80. Belize
  81. Benin
  82. Botswana
  83. Burkina Faso
  84. Cape Verde
  85. Eswatini
  86. Fiji
  87. Gabon
  88. Guinea-Bissau
  89. Jamaica
  90. Mauritius

Based on the new policy, there may be other countries, which get visas on arrival. If your country is not on the list above please check with the embassy before arriving.

According to Gambia’s new visa policy, all countries are now eligible to obtain a visa upon arrival except for 13 countries that require a pre-approved visa. These 13 countries are:

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Cameroon
  3. Iran
  4. Iraq
  5. Kosovo
  6. Lebanon
  7. Libya
  8. Mali
  9. Niger
  10. North Korea
  11. Palestine
  12. Somalia
  13. Syria

Please note that visa policies are subject to change and it’s always a good idea to check with the relevant embassy or consulate before traveling.